Board of Directors

Dennis Eidson


Dennis Eidson has served on the SpartanNash Board of Directors since 2007 and as Chairman of the Board since June 2016.

In August 2019, the SpartanNash Board of Directors appointed Eidson to the additional roles of Interim President and CEO until the next CEO is identified. He previously served as the company’s Chief Executive Officer from October 2008-May 2017, utilizing his more than 20 years of executive experience in the grocery retail and distribution industry. Eidson also served as SpartanNash’s President (2007-2016), Chief Operating Officer (2007-08) and Executive Vice President of Marketing and Merchandising (2003-07).

Prior to joining SpartanNash, Eidson served as the Divisional President and Chief Executive Officer of A&P’s Midwest Region (2000-02), Executive Vice President of Sales and Merchandising of A&P’s Midwest Region (2000) and Vice President of Merchandising for A&P’s Farmer Jack division (1997-2000).

M. Shân Atkins

Director, Audit Committee Chairperson

M. Shân Atkins is an independent business executive with expertise in finance, accounting and developing and implementing strategies for major consumer and retail organizations. She is the co-founder of Chetrum Capital LLC, a private investment firm, where she served as managing director from 2001 to 2017.

Atkins is also a Director of Darden Restaurants, Inc., an owner and operator of full-service restaurant brands; SunOpta, Inc., a global supplier of natural and organic foods; and LSC Communications, one of the largest printers of books, catalogs and magazines in the U.S.

Atkins was previously a Director of True Value Company; The Pep Boys – Manny, Moe and Jack; Tim Hortons, Inc.; and Shoppers Drug Mart. She has also served as a partner at Bain & Company, executive with Sears Roebuck & Company and accountant with PriceWaterhouseCoopers. She is a certified public accountant.

Dr. Frank M. Gambino


Dr. Frank M. Gambino is a Professor of Marketing and the Director of the Food & Consumer Package Goods Marketing Program at Western Michigan University. He is the immediate past chair of the Food Industry University Coalition for the National Grocers Association and a member of the Higher Education Council for the Category Management Association.

Prior to joining WMU, Gambino spent more than 15 years in the retail food industry, and he remains active within the food and consumer packaged goods industries at both the national and regional level.

Currently, he serves on the Retail Site Development Committee for Wakefern Food Corporation, a grocery retailer cooperative.

Douglas A. Hacker

Lead Independent Director

An independent business executive, Douglas A. Hacker also serves as a Director of Aircastle Limited and Travelport Worldwide Ltd. He has extensive experience in financial and operating management and executive compensation.

Hacker previously served as Executive Vice President of strategy for UAL Corporation, an airline holding company. He also held positions within the company as President of UAL Loyalty Services and Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer.

Yvonne R. Jackson

Director, Compensation Committee Chairperson

Yvonne R. Jackson is the President and Principal of BeecherJackson, Inc., a human resources management consulting firm she co-founded. She has more than 30 years of experience in human resources.

Jackson is a Board Member of Simmons College in Boston and serves as Chair Emeritus of the Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges. She is a former Director for Best Buy Inc. and Winn-Dixie Stores, Inc. and a former Advisory Council Member of PricewaterhouseCoopers.

Jackson has served as the Chief Human Resources Officer for Pfizer, Inc., Compaq Computer Company and Burger King Co.

Matthew Mannelly


Matthew Mannelly is the retired President and Chief Executive Officer of Prestige Brands, a healthcare and household cleaning products company, where he also served on the Board of Directors. He has experience in consumer products, packaged goods, sports and fitness and apparel.

Mannelly also serves on the Board for the international nonprofit Hope for Children. He previously served as a Board Member for Performance Sports Groups as well as Chief Executive Officer of Cannondale Bicycle Corporation.

Elizabeth A. Nickels


Elizabeth A. Nickels is an accomplished independent business executive and board member. She is also a Director for Principal Funds, a leading provider of mutual funds.

Nickels previously served as Executive Director of the Herman Miller Foundation, as well as Chief Financial Officer of Herman Miller, Inc. and President of the office furniture manufacturer’s Herman Miller Healthcare. Nickels also served as a Director of PetSmart, Inc.

Nickels is a certified public accountant.

Maj. Gen. (Ret.) Hawthorne L. Proctor


Maj. Gen. (Ret.) Hawthorne L. “Peet” Proctor currently serves as Managing Partner of Proctor & Boone LLC, a business consulting organization, and Senior Logistics Consultant in the Department of Defense Business Group of Intelligent Decisions, Inc. He is also Chief Executive Officer of ProMar, Inc., a small Service Disabled Veteran-Owned Business (SDVOB) in Northern Virginia.

A 35-year U.S. Army veteran, Proctor served as 46th Quartermaster General – providing oversight for training, leader development, material requirements and force structure solutions for 126,000 service members assigned to units in the Active, Reserve and Guard components of the Army.

Prior to his retirement, Proctor also served as the J3, or Chief Operating Officer, of the Defense Logistics Agency during Operations Enduring Freedom and Iraqi Freedom.

William R. Voss

Director, Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee Chairperson

William R. Voss has served for more than 10 years as Managing Director of Lake Pacific Partners, LLC, a private equity investment firm specializing in consumer products and services.

He previously served as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Natural Nutrition Group, Inc., a food processor; CEO of McCain Foods, Inc.; and President and a Director of Pilgrim’s Pride Corporation.